Norwich is one of the few English cities which can boast two cathedrals. Each has outstanding but diverse collections of stained glass. Thus, the Anglican Cathedral Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity can trace its roots back to 1096 and, as would be expected from a religious building of this antiquity, has experienced many alterations and additions through the years. Similarly it contains a wonderful selection of glass windows which date from medieval times through to the current era. Conversely, building started on what is now the Roman Catholic Church of St John the Baptist in 1882, and it was officially opened in 1910. Unlike the eclectic variety of glass contained in the Anglican building, the vast majority of windows here were not only made over this same period but by one firm, John Hardman and Co., and have been described as one of ‘the glories of the Cathedral’.